Print This Page

  Add To Favorites

The Human Energy System

Chakra RainbowThe word “Chakra” comes from the Sanskrit, meaning “wheels of energy” or "vortex of energy." They are the main energy centers of the body, through which we receive, process and transmit the experiences around us. (If you could see Chakras, as many who work with them do, you would be able to see each primary Chakra as a spinning vortex or wheel of energy).

Chakras are traditionally depicted as lotus flowers, each resonating at different frequencies and corresponding to the colors of the rainbow. Each Chakra spins. The lower Chakras spin more slowly than the higher ones and the direction of the spin differs in men and women.

Although the human energy system is said to have many Chakras, (32,000 smaller Chakras a.k.a. Nadis, which can be cross-referenced with acupuncture and shiatsu points), the traditional Hindu system names 7 major ones.

According to this Yogic Tradition, our seven main personal energy centers, Chakras, are positioned within the spinal column from the coccyx to the crown of the head. They are known as the:

  • Root Chakra
  • Sacral Chakra
  • Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Heart Chakra
  • Throat Chakra
  • Brow Chakra a.k.a. Third Eye Chakra
  • Crown Chakra
A Picture of Health
Chakra LocationsIn order to lead a healthy, balanced life, we must care not only for physical dysfunction's but also our emotional, mental and spiritual needs. The Chakras provide us a picture of the state of health within these 4 elements. This picture allows us to work within their subtle energies to bring us into balance. By maintaining an open and smooth flowing channel of energy through our Chakras, we can pre-empt the onset of physical disease and bring ourselves into mental, emotional and spiritual harmony.
Each main Chakra has within its field major organs and glands, so the energy system of our body is related to our physiological make-up.

Each Chakra has a function to enable us to achieve balance which may be over-ridden by our emotions and intellectual capabilities. For example, the base Chakra is concerned with being rooted, grounded and secure. It is aligned with the earth and is concerned with “nourishment” in its broadest sense. If we have worries or concerns to do with money, career, or material possessions, this Chakra’s function becomes overloaded, resulting in an imbalance in the surrounding organs and glands. This creates symptoms such as abdominal distension, diarrhea, constipation, hemorrhoids, etc.


Each Chakra has both an elemental and a planetary relationship, and is affiliated with crystals and essential oils.

Through yoga, meditation and receiving any form of energetic healing, we are able to balance the seven main Chakras. In deep meditation, they can even be opened. Balanced Chakras lead to a balance at all levels of Body, Mind, and Spirit.

When the Chakra centers are spinning and glowing in vibrant color, our organs and glands are affected positively and we experience a feeling of well-being and balance.

Back to Top


"The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and all science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: his eyes are closed."
-- Albert Einstein

The Metaphysical Store
"Seek and 'ye shall find, knock and the door will be opened, ask and it shall be given unto thee."
--A Biblical Passage

"The true understanding of both the Creator and the creation is considered to be the transcendental or metaphysical knowledge."
-- Bhagavad Gita

Astrological Reports
"For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction."
-- Isaac Newton 




Site Search


"I think in metaphysical terms. I would call that increasing the speed of the vibration of life."
--Neale Donald Walsh
Ancient Metaphysics  
"Nothing is impossible for those who act after wise council and careful thought."
-- Turuvalluvar
"To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven."
-- Ecclesiastes

My Prayer Bowl